what’s new in lighting design

June 28, 2010

We hauthaus gals love to go out and see what’s new and hot on the market.  Recently we went to Francis King at IMS and got the inside scoop on the new lighting trends this summer. Here are some of our favorites from a manufacturer that operates domestically in the United States… gotta love that!

Lollipop red pendant

This curvy pendant is made of bent wire. It would add a surprise pop of color into any room, and the classic lines of the piece will ensure it looks great in the space for years to come.

Re-used burlap table light

Old burlap flour sacks are used to create this one of a kind table lamp. Each lamp is different, which adds to it’s authenticity and whimsy. What a great way to put these old, unused flour sacks to good use!

Mid mod pendant

The manufacturer uses gracefully curved wood and a linen shade to evoke a mid-century modern feel.  This is pendant offers a clean and timeless look.

We loved these light fixtures because of their innovation, use of green, recycled materials, and the fact that they are produced right here in the US. What fun lights!

cheers, amber

4 Responses to “what’s new in lighting design”

  1. Your Garden Says:

    what's new in lighting design « a design blog…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. Ann Ranzau Says:

    I love the burlap sack light! I love all antique one of a kind things and this light really fits the bill! The red pendant is way too trendy for me. I do like the mid mod pendant, but the burlap sack fits my style the best. 🙂

  3. michelle (babcock) granberg Says:

    I love your flour sack light. My fathersinlaws family was in the flour commodities business. I was wondering where I could get this lamp. They recently added on to there cabin and I think it would make a great gift.

    • amberranzau Says:

      Hi Michelle,
      This lamp seems like it would be great for your family! I believe it comes in a pendant version as well. The company that sells it is called Currey and Company and they sell to the interior design trade. Check their website for local showrooms that carry their product.
      http://www.curreycodealers.com


Leave a Reply

